Gifts From The Heart

Image

    Would This Happen To A Psychic?

Gifts From The Heart

By Author Donna Jean McDunn

Whenever I watch a TV program like The Mentalist, I wonder what it would like to have psychic powers and to know when something bad was about to happen. Maybe even prevent a disaster like an airplane crash or find a missing child. 

The gift of seeing into the future would be a magnificent “gift”, one that would do great and wonderful things. But what if those who received this “gift”, this “power” had a cold heart for anyone but themselves? What if that person used the gift for their own personal gain and destroyed others in the process. That’s where the problems lie with a gift of such magnitude. It can corrupt and make many want to use it for selfish gain.

 Throughout history, men and woman have been known to abuse any kind of power and to take advantage of those who are weaker in someway. Power corrupts. Does that mean all who receive the “gift” would eventually become corrupt?

 I don’t believe so. Do you?

 I base my belief, not on the bad we see happening, but on the good that happens everyday. Power will corrupt some people. There is no denying that fact, but from the very rich, to the very poor, there is good and bad demonstrated everyday. It’s the bad that often captures our attention and the attention of the news media.

 Bt if we listen carefully, sometimes we’ll hear about a different kind of gift…a gift that comes from the heart. It’s seen nearly everyday. The neighbor who rescues a child from a burning house, or the wealthy woman who helps a destitute mother stay in her apartment, or the teenagers who rescue a child from a lake, these are gifts from the heart that saves and changes lives. We can be one of them if we’re willing to sacrifice our time, money, even our own welfare to prevent someone else from suffering.

 Gifts from the heart come in all forms; big and small and a person who posses a “psychic gift” could make the choice of using it for good. Whether you believe such a gift exists isn’t really the question. The question is “does the gift come from the heart”?

 Psychic powers may only exist in fiction where the writer is the one wielding all the power. She decides whether the gift is from the heart or one shrouded in darkness? The characters in a story have no real power, or do they?

 In my young adult paranormal novel, the protagonist is an eighteen-year-old girl who doesn’t know she has the “gift”. It’s not until a mysterious voice tells her to remember her past, so she can save her boyfriend and herself that she begins to have disturbing visions. She believes she’s going crazy and is gradually falling apart emotionally. Her boyfriend is completely clueless about why his strong, self-assured girlfriend is suddenly becoming a basket case. He wants to help her, but he doesn’t know how.

 I thought I was in charge of what would happen to them in the story, but as I wrote, I realized the characters had taken on a life of their own. They led me down some pretty scary paths and kept bringing home other characters I hadn’t even planned on creating. Some of them were pretty scary too. It was exciting and a lot of work, but my characters were worth it. I can’t tell you if she ever acknowledges her “gift” or why she lost it in the first place, but I will say, I enjoyed the journey she took me on to get where she needed to go. Does her gift come from the heart or from somewhere dark and self-serving? I can’t tell you that either, but when my story is published, I will let you know and you can decide for yourself.

 Which brings us back to whether psychic powers are real. Do they exist in the real world or only in our imaginations? Does it depend only on what we want to believe? 

 What is your opinion on psychics? Are they real in your mind too? Maybe you know someone who is psychic. Share your thoughts and opinions with us.

 As always, I appreciate your opinions or questions. Please, leave a comment and allow me to find your words, so I can learn what has inspired you to use your imagination to create. If you share your blog address or where you can be found on Facebook or Twitter I will leave a comment, like, or Tweet in return.

  It’s been said that writing is a lonely business and that’s true, but if we writers and readers continue to support one another, then we are no longer alone. I’d love to hear from you and read your work.

 Some of my work can be found online: Here’s a direct link to my children’s story “Pack Leader” at Knowonder Magazine. http://www.knowonder.com/2011/11/03/pack-leader-short-bedtime-stories/

 I also have a children’s story, “The Golden Stallion” online at www.storiesthatlift.com. Once on the site click on the Story Library and then Children’s Stories.

In May 2012, my children’s story, “Gus’ Big Adventure” will be published at Bumples Magazine. http://www.bumples.com/ 

On or around June 30, 2012 my first adult short story, “Saving Katie” will be published at http://www.thepinkchameleon.com

One response to “Gifts From The Heart

  1. Hi Donna,

    Well I don’t know if I believe in phychics, but I know plenty of people who do. I do love to read about them, especially the one in your book. I can’t wait to see it in print.

    Deb

Leave a Reply

