Who Does Your World Revolve Around?

 

Image

Who Does Your World Revolve Around?

By Author Donna Jean McDunn

“If your world revolves around you, it’s a very small world. But if it revolves around others, then it’s limitless.” – Master Betsy Steven’s, a sixth degree black belt

 I ran across this quote and thought wow, so I wrote it in the back of my address book. I put it there a long time ago so I could read it often…and then promptly forgot about it.

 Have you found a quote that’s made you sit up and think? One that made you say, wow! One you wanted to remember? If so, then you probably wrote it down or copied it, and like me, stuck it somewhere…and then forgot about it? Maybe, like me you found it unexpectedly while looking for something totally different and it still made you say, wow!

 When I read those words above, they made me question my life and ask myself some thought provoking questions. (Isn’t that why we save stuff like that?) What exactly is my world? Who’s in it and why? Do I want everything to revolve around me? Am I concerned about others? Do I go out of my way to make other people feel good about themselves? Am I willing to step out of my comfort zone to help others, even strangers?

 I think for many, many years, I hid behind my shyness. I know there are some who know me now, and they’re thinking, “What shyness?” The truth is I’ve fought being shy my entire life. I remember as a little girl, hiding behind my mom when a neighbor lady talked to me. I never knew what to say, so I didn’t say anything. I’d rather be alone than be with other people I didn’t know, or go somewhere I’d never been, because what if I said or did something I shouldn’t. People might get mad at me or even laugh and make fun of me.

 It wasn’t until I was nearly an adult that I began to understand other people often feel the same way and they are sometimes thought of as conceited or a snob, when in reality, they are afraid. (Of course there are conceited snobs everywhere.) I didn’t want to be one of them and I didn’t want anyone to think I was.

 Do you ever wonder if shyness is a fear of making mistakes, or a fear of being laughed at, or maybe it’s a fear of being hurt either physically or emotionally? If not, what do you believe shyness really is? Are you shy, and if so, what do you do when you feel a case of shyness coming on? How do you handle it? Do you hide behind your mother’s skirts like I did?

 I’ve learned to face it head on. I ask myself, what could this person or this place do to me? Now, if there are killers and drug addicts where you are or if the person you just met is really dangerous, like a serial killer or rapist, then the fear is legitimate, but if that person or the people there, are just ordinary human beings, probably facing the same fears you are, then look them in the eye, smile, think of something nice to say and say it.

 “Hello, my you have lovely hair.”

 Or “I love your shoes. They’re so cute.” (I love shoes.)

 Or you can even comment on the weather, but you can only use that one if you’ve already tried to think of something better to say and couldn’t.

 I guess what I’m getting at, is we are all in this life together. If we allow fear or shyness or anything else, to hold us back from helping others in whatever possible way we can, then our world is very small and will stay that way.

 I’ve been trying very hard to make my world limitless. This blog is a small start. I try to comment on Facebook and Twitter and I read other peoples blogs and leave comments. It sounds easy, but for me it wasn’t. I had to step out of my comfort zone, but now my small world is growing and soon I hope it will be limitless.

 So what size is your world? Is it very small or is it limitless? Only you can answer that question.

 As always, I appreciate your opinions, comments or questions. Please leave your blog address or where you can be found on Facebook or Twitter and I will return the favor by leaving a comment, follow, like, or Tweet in return.

  It’s been said that writing is a lonely business and that’s true, but if we writers and readers continue to support one another, then we are no longer alone. I’d love to hear from you.

 Some of my work can be found online: Last year my children’s story “Pack Leader” was published by Knowonder.com.

 I also have a children’s story, “The Golden Stallion” online at www.storiesthatlift.com. Once on the site click on the Story Library and then Children’s Stories.

In May 2012, my children’s story, “Gus’ Big Adventure” was published at Bumples Magazine. http://www.bumples.com/ 

Sometime in June 2012, my first adult short story, “Saving Katie” will be published at www.thepinkchameleon.com.

 

One response to “Who Does Your World Revolve Around?

  1. Hey Donna,

    We have more in common than I thought. I too considered myself shy a long time ago. I’d limit myself from being around others and going places that I’ve never gone because like yourself, I was afraid what people might say or think of me.

    As I’ve grown older and wiser, my world is limitless. Now I go places that I never thought I would go. I also talk to strangers and try to make them feel comfortable.

    The world is my oyster!

    Deb

Leave a Reply

