What Are Writers, Really

This is why writers write

“It is impossible to discourage the Real Writers – They don’t give a damn what you say – They’re going to write” – Sinclair Lewis

What Are Writer’s…Really?

By Author Donna Jean McDunn

How would you describe a writer? If you are a writer, how would you describe yourself?

I was thinking about this the other day and I don’t think there is a good way to describe a writer. We are all so different; one description does not fit all. But then I thought about it a little more and I realized there are a couple of things every writer on the planet has in common, but is that enough for a description for every writer?

One place to start investigating is on Twitter, Facebook or LinkedIn and read the comments of writers. Examine their pictures and read their blogs and websites. You’ll learn many things about them and their thoughts.

They come from all walks of life. Some are married with children; others are single by choice and still others who haven’t found the right “one” yet. There are single writer moms and dads and there are young and old of both genders, which work full or part-time jobs. They are all different in many ways, yet all of them are writers.

Many are published, but all are hoping they will be someday…soon…again and again and again…Well you get the point.

I include myself in that writers list. I’m one of the old ones, but I’m not dead yet. I still work full time. I live with a husband, two dogs and four indoor cats and several more outside cats. When our three daughters and son-in-laws and eight grandkids aren’t visiting, I write.

We writers, no matter what our differences, find time to write books, poems, plays, screenplays, blogs, articles and short stories of all genres of fiction, nonfiction, essays, and memoirs. Wherever there is a need for a story, there you will find a writer hard at work, developing their own unique “voice” and doing what they love.

At the end of the day, each writer may have taken a different path, but before their day ends, they will each have fulfilled their dream. Whether they sat typing or scribbling in a notebook or simply writing the words in their memories to put to paper at a later time, their dream of writing is real and it’s always there, pulling the writer to write.

Just like the quote above from Sinclair Lewis so adequately states, “It is impossible to discourage the real writers—they don’t give a damn what you say, they are going to write.”

So how would you describe a writer? I guess for me, it’s really not all that difficult after all. A writer is well, a writer. It’s not just what they do, it’s what they are. Enough said.

As always, I appreciate your opinions or questions. Please, leave a comment. If you leave your blog or website address or where you can be found on Facebook or Twitter I will follow you, leave a comment, like, or Tweet in return.

It’s been said that writing is a lonely business and that’s true, but if we writers and readers continue to support one another, then we are no longer alone.

Some of my work can be found online: My children’s story “Pack Leader” can be found at www.knowonder.com.

I also have a children’s story, “The Golden Stallion” online at www.storiesthatlift.com. Once on the site click on the Story Library and then Children’s Stories

In May 2012, my children’s story, “Gus’ Big Adventure” was published at Bumples Magazine. http://www.bumples.com/

Sometime in June or July 2012 my first adult short story, “Saving Katie” will be published at www.thepinkchameleon.com.

4 responses to “What Are Writers, Really

  1. Hey Donna,

    Very good question here; one I can’t find the answer to. Mostly, I write because it gives me great pleasure. I also enjoy putting my thoughts down on paper and educating those through my nonfiction articles.Sometimes I like putting my creative mind to good use to.

    Who’s the cute little boy in the picture above?

    Deb

  2. “THE WRITERS CURSE”

    A THOUGHT ABOUT WHAT THIS PERSON IS WRITING ENTERS INTO THEIR HEAD

    IT BECOMES A VISION AND THEN LIKE MAGIC THEY BEGIN TO SEE A DIALOG

    THEY ARE TRYING TO SLEEP BUT WORDS ARE ESCALATING TAKING CONTROL

    JUMPING FROM THEIR BED THEY WRITE NOTES THEY NEED TO CONTAIN

    ALL TO OFTEN A IMAGE IS LOST AND RECALCULATION IS NOT THE SAME

    NOTES NO LONGER SATISFY THE THOUGHTS MUST BE TRANSPOSED

    AFTER THEIR FIX THEY CLIMB BACK IN BED ONE THOUSAND WORDS LATER

  3. Thanks Ron for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I do like what you wrote. That really is the way it is, isn’t it? Thanks again and I hope you visit again sometime.

    • Your welcome Donna and I agree with 100% a writer writes , Now i will bore you with something else I wrote pertaining to what I just said.

      “WHO IS THE WRITER”

      THEY ARE THE ONE WHO EXPERIENCED AND ARE ABLE TO TRANSFORM INTO WORDS
      THE VISIONS THAT WENT THROUGH THEIR BRAIN INTO A STORY.

      IT WAS NOT THEIR MASTERY IN GRAMMAR NOR SPELLING BUT THE POWER OF IMAGE
      AND THE WILL TO WRITE AS THEY SEE WHEN IT IS FRESH

      AFTER THE STORY IS COMPLETE WITHOUT THE INTERRUPTIONS OF FIXERY
      THEN IS WHEN YOU BRING IN THE MASTERS.

      FOR THE WRITER WRITES,

Leave a Reply

