Is There Goodness In Murder And Mayhem?

They might be friends or they could be strangers. In the face of mayhem, people care about each other.

They might be friends or they could be strangers. In the face of mayhem, people care about each other.

By Donna Jean McDunn

Sometimes thinking of something to write about can be very difficult, so tonight I went on the internet to find an inspiration. Instead all I found were sad and in some cases, horrible stories of murder and mayhem. There was nothing good to report, but after stumbling across this headline “Abandoned Baby’s Mom Found Dead” I had to read it.

Suddenly what was and still is a terrible crime, had mutated into a combined effort of total strangers and one caring police chief, coming together to find the perpetrator of this heinous crime and bring justice to a young woman and her child.

The police chief’s idea was to raise $5,000 for a reward for the arrest and conviction of the person who took this young woman’s life and left an innocent child motherless and abandoned in an apartment complex hallway. The crime has not been solved yet, but there is not any doubt in my mind that it will be.

After I read the short article, I realized there are still many more good people doing good things for others everyday, even in the face of death and mayhem, than there are those causing all the death and mayhem.

These good people aren’t expecting a pat on the back or even a thank you. They do it because they care and when people care, good things happen.

So the next time you read a story about death and mayhem, look for the good, because if you do, I am sure you will find it in the form of a stranger helping others.

As always, I would love to hear your opinions and thoughts, so please leave a comment.

My short story Trapped, included in the anthology Mystery Times Nine 2012 has been released on Amazon.

My young adult paranormal/mystery will be released in May 2013 on Amazon, but can be viewed now

on MuseItUp Publishing’s website: Nightmares

Other places I can be found:

Facebook Author Page 
Facebook Profile Page 
LinkedIn

MusePub_Readers : MuseItUp Publishing Readers Group

I’m also on Twitter.

Other Places to view my short stories:

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

A Reason To Live

Saving Katie 
Pack Leader 
The Golden Stallion

Gus’ Big Adventure

5 responses to “Is There Goodness In Murder And Mayhem?

  1. What a shocking story. It’s so good to look at ‘the other side’ of these stories and know there are people out there who are doing some good and honest things for the families and victims of these heinous crimes.

    • Hi Dianne, thanks for visiting. As busy as you must be, I really appreciate the time you take commenting. I’ve noticed on your own blog that you personally reply to almost every comment. I am in awe of you, because you get so many!

      • It doesn’t seem a chore at all replying to comments. They come up on my notifications page and I just reply to them. Sometimes I look at my posts and think ‘oh – that’s a lot of comments!’ but most of them are probably mine! 😉

  2. What a sad sitation. Although the world is full of bad people, there are always a few good people who are looking out for others. Thank God for those people.

    annblantonwriter.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

