The Book Cover For Nightmares!

Emily must accept her gift of clairvoyance and remember her past, when a psychopath returns to kill again.

Emily must accept her gift of clairvoyance and remember her past, when a psychopath returns to kill again.

Yes! It has finally happened. I have a book cover for my very first book Nightmares. The days are finally dwindling and May will be here soon…well, okay it’s really not all that soon, but it’s less than four months away.

It is really strange and maybe it’s because I’m not as observant as some, but the first dozen or more times I looked at this cover, I didn’t realize there was a face of a girl in the top left corner.

My niece, who is a photographer and that’s probably why she saw it almost right away, told me there was a girl there. I still couldn’t really see her, until today, when I posted the cover on here. I fell in love with it all over again. 

I received the acceptance email from MuseItUp Publishing on August 11, 2012 and if the book is published in May 2013 as planned, it will have taken nine months for the whole publishing process. It’s kind of ironic that it takes nine months and now I wonder if the reason it takes that long is because writers always call their work their “baby”.

I’ll be posting an excerpt or two later on when it gets closer to the release date. For now I’m more interested in knowing if anyone else saw the girl in the book cover before it was pointed out to them. I can’t be the only one who didn’t, right? 

As always, I would love to hear your opinions and thoughts, so please leave a comment, especially if you couldn’t see the girl too.

My short story Trapped, included in the anthology Mystery Times Nine 2012 has been released and is available on Amazon.

My young adult paranormal/mystery will be released in May 2013, but can be viewed on MuseItUp Publishing’s website: Nightmares

Other places I can be found:

Facebook Author Page 
Facebook Profile Page 
LinkedIn

MusePub_Readers : MuseItUp Publishing Readers Group

I’m also on Twitter.

Other Places to view my short stories:

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

A Reason To Live

Saving Katie 
Pack Leader 
The Golden Stallion

Gus’ Big Adventure

 

 

14 responses to “The Book Cover For Nightmares!

  1. Hi Donna,

    This is a great cover for “Nightmares”. It certainly attracts my attention and it will definitely attract the attention of many others.

    I love the picture of the girl in the background. I’m assuming it’s Emily, right? The first time I saw it, I hadn’t noticed it either. I love it!

    http://annblantonwriter.wordpress.com/

    • Hi Ann, I totally agree with you about the book cover. I think it will grab the attentions of readers also. Isn’t it strange how the face just sort of appeared after I had looked at it several times.

  2. I’ve nominated you for a reader award. Thank you for stopping by my blog and for all of your thoughtful comments. 🙂 http://thatgirlwhoreadsbooks.com/2013/01/18/awards/

  3. Great to find you through A GIRL WHO READS BOOKS awards page! paula ♥

    • Hi thank you for commenting on my blog. I really enjoy reading other peoples blog and have checked out yours too. Great site, filled with a lot of useful things and a lot of humor too. I’m now following your blog also. Forgive me though, if I’m slow to comment on your posts. Sometimes a few days may go by before I have time to read all the blogs I subscribe to, but I almost always try to leave a comment even if it’s just to say hi.

  4. This is fabulous, Donna! I love the cover and didn’t see the girl at first either. Well done and congratulations for landing the publisher. I’m looking forward to reading the book 😀

    • Thank you Dianne, I’m glad you like it and it makes me feel better knowing someone else didn’t see the girl at first too. I can’t wait for the book to come out in May. The last few months have been a really fun and yet scary trip. It’s also been very busy. I sometimes wish there were two of me, but then I remember I would have to share half the fun.

  5. Donna Jean – what a GREAT book cover! I did see the girl’s face and it just gave me the shivers. Very creepy looking. I look forward to reading your excerpts. I love a good mystery.

  6. Rohan 7 Things

    Beautiful cover! Really creepy 🙂

    I wish you all the best with the release of Nightmares!!

    Rohan.

Leave a Reply

