I Don’t Want to be One of Those!

VISIONS book two of THE NIGHTMARES SERIES  Emily must help a murdered child find closure and stop a vengeful ghost from possessing and destroying innocent lives.

VISIONS book two of THE NIGHTMARES SERIES
Emily must help a murdered child find closure and stop a vengeful ghost from possessing and destroying innocent lives.

The second book in The Nightmares Series, Visions, is now available on MuseItUp Publishing’s and Amazon’s websites and also many other places where e-books can be found, but that’s not what this post is about.

I feel as though I’ve neglected my blog the last couple of weeks months okay! Years! I’m a terrible blogger. I admit it. It’s not that I don’t enjoy blogging, because I do. It’s really because I want to talk about my books and seriously, it’s not that I expect anyone to read them. I just like mentioning their titles, Nightmares, Visions and next year, The Rose Stalker and if that should happen to inspire someone to buy, well then that’s great. I’m not trying to force anyone into reading them, I just like telling people what they’re about.

Book One of The Nightmares Series: Emily must regain her memory of the past before a psychopath kills her and those she loves.

Book One of The Nightmares Series: Emily must regain her memory of the past before a psychopath kills her and those she loves.

Take Nightmares for example: It’s a paranormal/mystery about Emily. She’s eighteen and getting ready to graduate high school when a mysterious voice tells her she must remember her past and accept her gift of clairvoyance  in order to prevent her own demise and others.

The really exciting news, Nightmares will be published sometime between now and Christmas as a paperback. I can’t wait to hold it in my hands!

I was talking the other day to another author who agrees with me, that people get tired of always having someone trying to sell them their books. It gets really annoying when that’s all they talk about.

Everywhere you go, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, it doesn’t matter, there are ads at every click of the mouse. Buy My Book! And whatever you do, don’t give them your email address or you’ll come home to find hundreds of “Buy My Book” emails.

I don’t want to be one of those people. If I can’t think of something else to write about…well then, I’m just not going to blog, and I thought I should explain my reasons.

Say! Did I mention that The Rose Stalker will be released sometime in the spring/summer of 2015? Isn’t that exciting? I don’t have a cover for it yet, but I’ll share it when I do. But don’t worry, I won’t mention “buy my book” even once.

Please leave a comment and make some suggestions about what you would like me to write about. I can use all the help anyone can provide.

 

7 responses to “I Don’t Want to be One of Those!

  1. I understand what you mean, Donna. I have a friend who is an author and she’s so witty she can blurt out things like “buy my book” and no one thinks a thing about it. Me, I still feel funny mentioning being a writer even after three published books. What I love to hear writers talk about is their characters or why they pick their particular genre. Since you are interested in and write about the paranormal, you must have some stories you could share that aren’t in your books or you could tell us about the experiences that inspired you to write about them. In my next book I plan to incorporate something my daughter dreamed. When she told me about it, it made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck, it was that creepy.

    • Thanks for the feedback. Those are some interesting ideas I will have to explore. I get stuck trying to think of something to write in the blog and then time is also short, so I don’t want to spend a lot of time writing something just for it, but your comments are helpful.

  2. Donna Jean I think it’s fine for you to promote your books! What if you shared paragraphs or snippets of your books here?

    • Hi Sue, sharing parts of the stories is an idea I’ve done in the past and will have to start doing more often. The writing life is just a game of putting something out there and hoping the right person/people find it. I think of it as a game of roulette. Sometimes you win, but mostly you lose, but that’s okay, because it’s the winning that counts.

  3. Hi Donna! Lovely to see your post and I think it’s fine for you to let your readers know updates about your book publications and share information to let everyone know the latest. You definitely don’t overdo it but I do know what you mean about being bombarded. If I feel a blog is nothing but ‘buy my book’ it puts me right off and I stop visiting. It’s hard to know what to suggest. Whatever you feel comfortable with I suppose is the best advice. I struggle constantly with getting the balance right with blogging and writing my book (still on the draft of my first!)so I haven’t even got to the ‘buy my book’ stage, haha!!
    Blogging is very time consuming but as you say, it’s a wonderful thing too. I love the community. Maybe you could just do short, sharp posts about your stories and characters as others have suggested? Or share about your writing day/process? Not much help am I?! Still, just wanted to drop by and say ‘hi’ and let you know how much I appreciate your visits 🙂

    • Thanks Sherri, I feel any kind of help is good for ideas. I like to blog, but my first love and priority is writing my next book. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate it. I haven’t forgotten either, that you won the contest and as soon as the paperback is released I’ll be sure to get it to you. I also love to read other peoples blogs but sometime I can’t always get to them on a timely basis, but I do get to them eventually.

Leave a Reply

