Gallery

Jersey: Occupation Liberation Celebration

I decided to share this because it’s a little slice of history. Many of us living today are to young to remember this war, including me and I’m pretty old. Read to the bottom of the post to be sure and read the words of love life and hope.

A View From My Summerhouse

Before my recent and first-ever visit to the beautiful island of Jersey, I knew of its famous Jersey cows,  delicious Jersey Royal new potatoes, and stunning coastline. I also knew something of its occupation under Nazi Germany in WWII, but, and to my shame, I knew very little of its impact on the people of Jersey.  All that was about to change.

As I crossed the English Channel by Ferry with my mother on May 7th for our much-anticipated getaway, as soon as I caught sight of the delightful view from our hotel room some seven hours later, I knew we were in for a treat.

The next day – after taking in the surprising results of the General Election back home – we set about exploring.  And learning.

Although closest to France, Jersey has been part of the British Isles ever since William of Normandy’s invasion in 1066 ~

View original post 1,639 more words

8 responses to “Jersey: Occupation Liberation Celebration

  1. Donna Jean those are wonderful and encouraging words. Yes being upset is such a waste of time. Choosing to be happy is always the best choice of all.

    • Thanks Sue for visiting and leaving a comment. Sherri is one of my favorite bloggers, along with you of course. She has had a very interesting life and like you, writes about it often. I am so impressed with all you guys manage to find the time to do.

      • You are so kind to include me with the likes of Sherri. I am humbled. As far as the time well the fact is I love it, I am semi retired and pretty fast on the computer. 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for the reblog Donna 😉

  3. A fascinating journey. I completely enjoyed reading, especially the words at the end…something each of us should remember EVERY day.

Leave a Reply

